Expect the Best from Mary Greeley

Expect outstanding care from the only hospital in Iowa to have achieved a Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award, the nation’s highest recognition for performance excellence, and Magnet Designation, the nation’s top recognition for nursing quality.

Click to watch the YouTube Video | Expect the Best from Mary Greeley

What is the Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award?

Since 1987, the Baldrige Award has been the highest recognition for performance excellence in the nation. It is the nation’s only presidential award for performance excellence, recognizing U.S. organizations and businesses that have shown an “unceasing drive for innovative solutions to complex challenges, visionary leadership and operational excellence.” In 2019, Mary Greeley became the first organization in Iowa to achieve this prestigious level of recognition.

How did Mary Greeley achieve this level of recognition?

Baldrige judges evaluate organizations in seven areas: leadership; strategy; customers; measurement, analysis and knowledge management; workforce; operations; and results. Among the highlights of the Baldrige judges’ evaluation of Mary Greeley are:

  • Consistently strong ratings in a variety of areas related to patient safety and health care quality from major organizations, including the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS).
  • High percentage of patients and employees who would recommend Mary Greeley to others.
  • Strong, stable financial performance, and strength of Mary Greeley’s market share in central Iowa.
  • Workforce commitment to the medical center’s “Doing What’s Right” tagline, as demonstrated through the medical center’s patient-centered scheduling program, Patient and Family Advisory Council, and administrative rounding with staff.
  • A workplace culture that emphasizes open communication, high performance, and patient safety.
  • Inclusion of community members in strategic planning process and process improvement projects.

What is Magnet Designation?

American Nurses Credentialing Center (ANCC) chooses hospitals for Magnet Recognition. It is considered the gold standard for nursing and the highest honor given by the ANCC. Mary Greeley is the only hospital in central Iowa to have it.

Research indicates that organizations that have received Magnet recognition have lower rates of patient falls, and higher patient satisfaction with nurse communication, availability of help, and discharge information. Magnet-recognized organizations also have higher levels of job satisfaction.

How did Mary Greeley achieve Magnet Recognition?

The recognition came after a rigorous application and review process, which included a site visit by Magnet Recognition Program evaluators. With emphasis on quality, patient care practices, and performance outcomes, the Magnet Recognition Program measures how an organization involves nursing in leadership and decision-making, and provides nursing staff with tools and training to drive continual improvement and innovation.

Mary Greeley employs approximately 500 nurses, more than half have earned their BSN. Studies have shown that organizations with high percentages of BSN-prepared RNs have better patient outcomes.

We are Magnet.

We are Magnet Shared Decision Making Video - Click to Play We are Magnet Shared Decision Making Video - Click to Play We are Magnet Shared Decision Making Video - Click to Play