Registration Open

EMT Course

Dec
1
Mon
To
Apr
16
Thu
Dec 1, 2014 - Apr 16, 2015
Mondays & Thursdays
6:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Bessie Myers Auditorium
Ames, IA

The EMT Course emphasizes the development of student skills in patient assessment and examination, the recognition of signs and symptoms of illness and injury, and proper procedures when rendering emergency medical care.

Registration Details

To apply, download an application and return by e-mail (ruud@mgmc.com) or fax (515-956-2951 attn: Darin Ruud, MICS) or mail to:

MICS Education Coordinator
Mary Greeley Medical Center
1111 Duff Avenue
Ames, Iowa 50010

Download a class schedule.

Please complete these forms and bring them to the first class.

Fees & Payment

Tuition, including text and testing fees*: $1,100.00

You may pay by credit card online by clicking the "Register Online" link below or you can mail a check in with your registration. Tuition is due on or before December 1, 2014.

*In preparing your course, we make every effort to include all possible expenses and fees in a single figure to provide full disclosure and no hidden costs. National Registry of Emergency Medical Technicians and Iowa Department of Public Health examination and certification fees are not subject to training program control and are paid directly to those organizations following successful completion of the course.

Description

AmbulanceThe EMT Course is a challenging course that emphasizes the development of student skills in patient assessment and examination, the recognition of signs and symptoms of illness and injury, and proper procedures when rendering emergency medical care. Candidates must be prepared to commit several hours of preparation for the class. It is not uncommon for students to report they spend one hour of preparation outside of class for each hour inside of class.

Course content will address broad topics and create a foundation of knowledge and skills preparing students who successfully complete the program for certification testing as a National Registry EMT and State of Iowa EMT.

To successfully complete the course, students will be required to gain clinical experience with Mobile Intensive Care Services and in the Mary Greeley Medical Center Emergency Department. (Individual student hours may vary depending on the availability of patient contact.)

Courses will be coordinated and instructed by professional paramedics affiliated with Mobile Intensive Care Services of Mary Greeley Medical Center and other experienced clinicians with specialized expertise.

Admission Criteria:

  • Students must be at least 17 years of age at the time of enrollment.
  • Students must be functionally able to speak, read and write English.
  • Student must provide proof of health Insurance.
  • Students must be certified in CPR for Healthcare Provider or equivalent by 12/1/2014. A CPR course is scheduled for November 20.
  • Student must provide proof of current immunizations/vaccinations for MMR, Vericella, Tb (or negative Chest X-Ray), Hepatitis B series, and Influenza.

Contact

Darin Ruud, Paramedic at 515-239-2109 or send an email

Schedule & Location

Schedule

This event includes all of the 40 meeting times below.
Date Time Location
1. Mon, December 01 6:00 PM to 10:00 PM Bessie Myers Auditorium
2. Thu, December 04 6:00 PM to 10:00 PM Bessie Myers Auditorium
3. Mon, December 08 6:00 PM to 10:00 PM Bessie Myers Auditorium
4. Thu, December 11 6:00 PM to 10:00 PM Bessie Myers Auditorium
5. Mon, December 15 6:00 PM to 10:00 PM Bessie Myers Auditorium
6. Thu, December 18 6:00 PM to 10:00 PM Bessie Myers Auditorium
7. Mon, December 22 6:00 PM to 10:00 PM Bessie Myers Auditorium
8. Thu, December 25 6:00 PM to 10:00 PM Bessie Myers Auditorium
9. Mon, December 29 6:00 PM to 10:00 PM Bessie Myers Auditorium
10. Thu, January 01 6:00 PM to 10:00 PM Bessie Myers Auditorium
11. Mon, January 05 6:00 PM to 10:00 PM Bessie Myers Auditorium
12. Thu, January 08 6:00 PM to 10:00 PM Bessie Myers Auditorium
13. Mon, January 12 6:00 PM to 10:00 PM Bessie Myers Auditorium
14. Thu, January 15 6:00 PM to 10:00 PM Bessie Myers Auditorium
15. Mon, January 19 6:00 PM to 10:00 PM Bessie Myers Auditorium
16. Thu, January 22 6:00 PM to 10:00 PM Bessie Myers Auditorium
17. Mon, January 26 6:00 PM to 10:00 PM Bessie Myers Auditorium
18. Thu, January 29 6:00 PM to 10:00 PM Bessie Myers Auditorium
19. Mon, February 02 6:00 PM to 10:00 PM Bessie Myers Auditorium
20. Thu, February 05 6:00 PM to 10:00 PM Bessie Myers Auditorium
21. Mon, February 09 6:00 PM to 10:00 PM Bessie Myers Auditorium
22. Thu, February 12 6:00 PM to 10:00 PM Bessie Myers Auditorium
23. Mon, February 16 6:00 PM to 10:00 PM Bessie Myers Auditorium
24. Thu, February 19 6:00 PM to 10:00 PM Bessie Myers Auditorium
25. Mon, February 23 6:00 PM to 10:00 PM Bessie Myers Auditorium
26. Thu, February 26 6:00 PM to 10:00 PM Bessie Myers Auditorium
27. Mon, March 02 6:00 PM to 10:00 PM Bessie Myers Auditorium
28. Thu, March 05 6:00 PM to 10:00 PM Bessie Myers Auditorium
29. Mon, March 09 6:00 PM to 10:00 PM Bessie Myers Auditorium
30. Thu, March 12 6:00 PM to 10:00 PM Bessie Myers Auditorium
31. Mon, March 16 6:00 PM to 10:00 PM Bessie Myers Auditorium
32. Thu, March 19 6:00 PM to 10:00 PM Bessie Myers Auditorium
33. Mon, March 23 6:00 PM to 10:00 PM Bessie Myers Auditorium
34. Thu, March 26 6:00 PM to 10:00 PM Bessie Myers Auditorium
35. Mon, March 30 6:00 PM to 10:00 PM Bessie Myers Auditorium
36. Thu, April 02 6:00 PM to 10:00 PM Bessie Myers Auditorium
37. Mon, April 06 6:00 PM to 10:00 PM Bessie Myers Auditorium
38. Thu, April 09 6:00 PM to 10:00 PM Bessie Myers Auditorium
39. Mon, April 13 6:00 PM to 10:00 PM Bessie Myers Auditorium
40. Thu, April 16 6:00 PM to 10:00 PM Bessie Myers Auditorium

Location Details

  • Bessie Myers Auditorium
    1111 Duff Avenue
    Ames, IA 50010

Related Events

Find more events

At this location Bessie Myers Auditorium
Beginning on December 1, 2014

Upcoming Events

Patient Privacy | Net Learning for Employees | MGMC PACS for Physicians
Emergency Preparedness

1111 Duff Avenue Ames, IA 50010 - 515-239-2011 - yourhealth.mgmc@mgmc.com

©2014 Mary Greeley Medical Center - All rights reserved.