Registration Closed

EMT Course

Oct
10
Thu
To
Mar
13
Thu
Oct 10, 2013 - Mar 13, 2014
Mondays & Thursdays
6:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Bessie Myers Auditorium
Ames, IA

1 Alternative Date Available

EMT Course is also offered...

Dec
1
Mon
To
Apr
16
Thu
Mondays & Thursdays
6:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Bessie Myers Auditorium
Ames, IA
Registration Open

The EMT Course emphasizes the development of student skills in patient assessment and examination, the recognition of signs and symptoms of illness and injury, and proper procedures when rendering emergency medical care.

Registration Details

Registration is closed.

To apply, download an application and return by e-mail (ruud@mgmc.com) or fax (515-956-2951 attn: Darin Ruud, MICS) or mail to:

MICS Education Coordinator
Mary Greeley Medical Center
1111 Duff Avenue
Ames, Iowa 50010 

Download a class schedule.

Please complete this form and bring it to the first class.

Please also complete this form and bring it to the first class.

Registration is open until the first night of class or until 24 applications have been approved.

Fees & Payment

Tuition, including text and testing fees*: $1,000.00

You may pay by credit card online by clicking the "Register Online" link below or you can mail a check in with your registration. Tuition is due on or before October 10, 2013.

*Students will be responsible for testing fees payable to the Iowa Department of Public Health, Bureau of Emergency Medical Services and National Registry of Emergency Medical Technicians after successful completion of the course.

Description

AmbulanceThe EMT Course is a challenging course that emphasizes the development of student skills in patient assessment and examination, the recognition of signs and symptoms of illness and injury, and proper procedures when rendering emergency medical care. Candidates must be prepared to commit several hours of preparation for the class. It is not uncommon for students to report they spend one hour of preparation outside of class for each hour inside of class.

Course content will address broad topics and create a foundation of knowledge and skills preparing students who successfully complete the program for certification testing as a National Registry EMT and State of Iowa EMT.

To successfully complete the course, students will be required to gain clinical experience with Mobile Intensive Care Services and in the Mary Greeley Medical Center Emergency Department. (Individual student hours may vary depending on the availability of patient contact.)

Courses will be coordinated and instructed by professional paramedics affiliated with Mobile Intensive Care Services of Mary Greeley Medical Center and other experienced clinicians with specialized expertise.

Download an application.

Download a class schedule.

Please complete this form and bring it to the first class.

Please also complete this form and bring it to the first class.

Contact

Darin Ruud, Paramedic at 515-239-2109 or send an email

Schedule & Location

Schedule

This event includes all of the 37 meeting times below.
Date Time Location
1. Thu, October 10 6:00 PM to 10:00 PM Bessie Myers Auditorium
2. Mon, October 14 6:00 PM to 10:00 PM Bessie Myers Auditorium
3. Thu, October 17 6:00 PM to 10:00 PM Bessie Myers Auditorium
4. Mon, October 21 6:00 PM to 10:00 PM Bessie Myers Auditorium
5. Thu, October 24 6:00 PM to 10:00 PM Bessie Myers Auditorium
6. Mon, October 28 6:00 PM to 10:00 PM Bessie Myers Auditorium
7. Thu, October 31 6:00 PM to 10:00 PM Bessie Myers Auditorium
8. Mon, November 04 6:00 PM to 10:00 PM Bessie Myers Auditorium
9. Thu, November 07 6:00 PM to 10:00 PM Bessie Myers Auditorium
10. Mon, November 11 6:00 PM to 10:00 PM Bessie Myers Auditorium
11. Thu, November 14 6:00 PM to 10:00 PM Bessie Myers Auditorium
12. Mon, November 18 6:00 PM to 10:00 PM Bessie Myers Auditorium
13. Thu, November 21 6:00 PM to 10:00 PM Bessie Myers Auditorium
14. Mon, December 02 6:00 PM to 10:00 PM Bessie Myers Auditorium
15. Thu, December 05 6:00 PM to 10:00 PM Bessie Myers Auditorium
16. Mon, December 09 6:00 PM to 10:00 PM Bessie Myers Auditorium
17. Thu, December 12 6:00 PM to 10:00 PM Bessie Myers Auditorium
18. Mon, December 16 6:00 PM to 10:00 PM Bessie Myers Auditorium
19. Thu, December 19 6:00 PM to 10:00 PM Bessie Myers Auditorium
20. Mon, January 13 6:00 PM to 10:00 PM Bessie Myers Auditorium
21. Thu, January 16 6:00 PM to 10:00 PM Bessie Myers Auditorium
22. Mon, January 20 6:00 PM to 10:00 PM Bessie Myers Auditorium
23. Thu, January 23 6:00 PM to 10:00 PM Bessie Myers Auditorium
24. Mon, January 27 6:00 PM to 10:00 PM Bessie Myers Auditorium
25. Thu, January 30 6:00 PM to 10:00 PM Bessie Myers Auditorium
26. Mon, February 03 6:00 PM to 10:00 PM Bessie Myers Auditorium
27. Thu, February 06 6:00 PM to 10:00 PM Bessie Myers Auditorium
28. Mon, February 10 6:00 PM to 10:00 PM Bessie Myers Auditorium
29. Thu, February 13 6:00 PM to 10:00 PM Bessie Myers Auditorium
30. Mon, February 17 6:00 PM to 10:00 PM Bessie Myers Auditorium
31. Thu, February 20 6:00 PM to 10:00 PM Bessie Myers Auditorium
32. Mon, February 24 6:00 PM to 10:00 PM Bessie Myers Auditorium
33. Thu, February 27 6:00 PM to 10:00 PM Bessie Myers Auditorium
34. Mon, March 03 6:00 PM to 10:00 PM Bessie Myers Auditorium
35. Thu, March 06 6:00 PM to 10:00 PM Bessie Myers Auditorium
36. Mon, March 10 6:00 PM to 10:00 PM Bessie Myers Auditorium
37. Thu, March 13 6:00 PM to 10:00 PM Bessie Myers Auditorium

Location Details

  • Bessie Myers Auditorium
    1111 Duff Avenue
    Ames, IA 50010

Related Events

Find more events

At this location Bessie Myers Auditorium
Beginning on October 10, 2013

Upcoming Events

Patient Privacy | Net Learning for Employees | MGMC PACS for Physicians
Emergency Preparedness

1111 Duff Avenue Ames, IA 50010 - 515-239-2011 - yourhealth.mgmc@mgmc.com

©2014 Mary Greeley Medical Center - All rights reserved.